SWIVEL Gallery is pleased to present The Privilege of Getting Together III, a group exhibition in conjunction with REGULARNORMAL. Curated by Graham Wilson, Archiebald Raphulu and Danny Báez, the showcase brings together sixteen diverse artists from New York and abroad. An experiment in collaboration, The Privilege of Getting Together III explores contemporary painting, sculpture and illustration. The first two iterations of TPOGT were hosted by REGULARNORMAL in 2020, with this being the first co-organized event with SWIVEL Gallery.


Through a variety of mediums, the exhibition assembles a wide range of influences and inspirations, from the outsider art movement to pop art, to post-analog painting and hyperrealism. While some of the artists reference art history, others hardly regard formalism, pushing their mediums to unseen boundaries and pulling from cultural lineage and backgrounds. Figuration often appears, with discussions surrounding identity and the body via traditional portraiture. In contrast, some turn towards abstraction and conceptualism, leaning into digital territory, or at the very least, digitally adjacent.

From Danny Báez: “The Privilege of Getting Together features 16 artists who are experimenting with mixed media and texture to speak on themes of community, gathering, family, lineage, home, and relationships — themes many are thinking about within their domestic spaces during the time of COVID 19...Informed by their cultural backgrounds from around the globe such as the Caribbean, Asia, South America and beyond, the artists collectively speak on the contemporary US experience.”

The Privilege of Getting Together III is on view at SWIVEL Gallery July 15 through August 15, 2021. Please join us for the opening reception, which will take place July 15 from 6pm to 9pm, some artists will be in attendance.

Participating Artists Include: Lauryn Levette • Nurya Chana • Emma Rivera • Amira Brown • Les Artisans Du Champ • Henry Swanson • David Williams • Corinne Bernard • Aineki Angelita Traverso • Mercedes Llanos • Vyczie Dorado • Miko Veldkamp • Jabari Jefferson • JET CARTER • Ryan Cosbert • Julian Adon Alexander