The 3rd Annual Supersonic Electronic Invitational @ Spoke Art, SF

Jan 09, 2014 - Jan 25, 2014Spoke Art, San Francisco

Spoke Art is pleased to present the Third Annual Supersonic Invitational, a group show dedicated to highlighting emerging as well as established artists in the New Contemporary art movement. Zach Tutor, curator of Supersonic Electronic, has invited 41 artists, including Juxtapoz favorites Brett Amory, Alex Pardee, Jen Mann, Aaron Nagel, Conrad Roset, and more. 

These 41 artists have been chosen for their diverse ways of expressing similar reflections of life in the second decade of the 21st century. Each of the artists has existed in a world with instant access to unlimited aesthetic inspiration resulting in a very multifaceted generation of artists whose work displays and contains an extraordinary amount of influences. This access to all forms of art and media has shaped their creative output greatly and has pushed art forward to an exciting new era that is only just beginning to be recognizable.

"I see Supersonic and Spoke Art as the seeds and hopefully roots of this burgeoning movement as Supersonic is a source of this aesthetic inspiration for many artists around the world and seeks to chronicle, as well as unify, the styles of this generation's work.

Thanks to Spoke Art the yearly show has become a platform to showcase the best of these talented artists in a physical space furthering what these artists are defining. The gallery is still the most important space for an artist and these artist’s works which are mostly viewed on screens around the world are given, in a sense, a physical blog post.

For me there is much beauty in seeing an artists work from the distance of a screen and finally having the chance to view it in person. It's like knowing of a treasure's existence, following the map and then digging it up, basking in the light of the gold." - Zach Tutor, curator

Artist List: Brett Amory, Glenn Arthur, Tom Bagshaw, Oliver Barrett, David Bray, Hsiao Ron Cheng, Dan Christofferson, Kristina Collantes, Seamus Conley, Sam Wolfe Connelly, Jason Edmiston, Jeremy Enecio, Cam Floyd, Ken Garduno, Andrew Hem, Stella Im Hultberg, Allan Innman, Martine Johanna, Erik Jones, Steve Kim, Jason Levesque, Jen Mann, Alessandra Maria, Soey Milk, Mike Mitchell, Aaron Nagel, Joanne Nam, Victo Ngai, Charmaine Olivia, ONEQ, Alex Pardee, Jeff Ramirez, Conrad Roset, Joao Ruas, Tina St. Claire, Tatiana Suarez, Ken Taylor, Sachin Teng, Casey Weldon, Matthew Woodson, and Zoltron.

Opening Reception: Thursday, January 9th. 6pm-10pm (artists in attendance)
Online release, Friday, January 10th
Show on view until Saturday, January 25th