Painting

Pop Surrealist Mainstay Camille Rose Garcia Premieres New Work Inspired by Her Upcoming Book in LA

May 12, 2018 - Jun 16, 2018Corey Helford Gallery, Los Angeles

Corey Helford Gallery is hosting a solo show from the pop-surrealist legend Camille Rose Garcia titled ​The Wonderful World of Dr. Deekay on ​Saturday, May 12 in their ​Main Gallery​. The massive showcase will premiere 36 new paintings including watercolor paintings, 40 framed original sketches, dozens of illustrations, puppets, a stop-motion animated film and a new mural on the gallery’s wall based on her long-awaited illustrated book “The Cabinet of Dr. Deekay,” a dystopian horror fairytale that will be published this summer in conjunction with the exhibit.

The world of Dr. Deekay is a surreal psychedelic commentary on our modern world inspired by the real-life dental horror Camille endured over seven years ago. During a one week period, Garcia had to undergo 11 root canals, a full mouth reconstruction, gum surgery, and finally a bad reaction to an anti-anxiety pill that created frightening hallucinations and the inspiration for this story. The book follows young Alex Winchester after he wakes up in a strange hospital and parts of himself missing—his introduction to a dystopian new world in which everyone is systematically “rearranged.” In the tradition of Orwell, Huxley, and Roald Dahl, Garcia carefully blends humor and horror to create a singular world reflecting our own reality—life in an invisible asylum of pharmaceuticals, consumerism, and consumption that’s destroying the earth, our oceans, our bodies and our psyches.

The Wonderful World of Dr. Deekay ​solo show will guide viewers through key parts of the story with concept art and illustrations from the book itself. However, the show expands the universe far beyond the 200-page book, with ten new paintings on wood, highlighting characters, settings and major moments in the story, such as Alex’s operations and first meeting characters during the adventure. ​As Camille finally premieres the first chapter in her “Dr. Deekay” universe, she is also entering a new chapter of her creative career. This stop-motion video being featured in this exhibit will mark her first foray into the medium, despite the fact that she originally sought to become an animator before ever entering art school. It’s being produced in collaboration with Mark Meunier, best known for his work in “James and the Giant Peach” and “Coraline.”