SFMoMA Announces 2010 SECA Award Winners

Juxtapoz // Sunday, 19 Dec 2010


What is a nice art tradition here in San Francisco since 1967, the SFMoMA just announced that Mauricio Ancalmo, Colter Jacobsen, Ruth Laskey, and Kamau Amu Patton (seen above) are the 2010 artists for its biennial SECA Art Award. For those who don't know, "Administered by SECA (Society for the Encouragement o f Contemporary Art), one of the museum's auxiliaries, the signature award honors Bay Area artists who are working independently at a high level of artistic maturity but who have not yet received substantial recognition."

Past winners include Rigo 23, Barry McGee, Chris Johanson, Tauba Auerbach, and Kota Ezawa, among plenty of others.

The four award winners this year receive a cash prize and will be featured in an exhibition (with accompanying catalogue) that opens at the SFMoMA in the fall of 2011.

Of course, more to come. More information at SFMoMA.


Every image in one place


Full magazine features from Juxtapoz

visit the VAULT >